Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help calculating the resistors

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting in this forum.

I have basically zero experience calculating circuits on my own, usualy, I just do the manual labor (soldering, etc)
My current client needs the following circuit in his product, and I'm having trouble calculating the resistance of the resistors.

The circuit is pretty simple, it's three groups of LEDs (two white, and one red), with a power switch, and a momentary button for the white LEDs.
Space is limited, so I can only fit some 3V coin cells, or two AAA batteries inside. The red LEDs need 2.2V and 20mA, and the white ones need 3.5V and 20mA.

So, if I power it using two AAA batteries will it work properly? The white LEDs will be a little bit weak, since I'll get 3V maximum. Or should I go for a couple of 3V cells? It will get me 6V and require less space than the batteries.

And what's the math I need to do to know the resistance of the resistors? I found some online calculators, but they only calculate on the ideia that all the LEDs are equal. Since I'm using two different types of LEDs, I'm can't find the answer.

Can someone give me the formula?

PS: Is it an option to use the AAA bateries and connect the white LEDs whitout resistors? The voltage will do, but I fear the current will damage the LEDs.

Thanks in advance2.png

I've read it, but I think I'm too stupid, because I still can't figure out how to calculate if I'm using different colors of LEDs.

I mean, if I got 6V to power 3 parallel arrays of red and white LEDs, is this the right math?

obs: I'm using 0.06A because it's 3 LEDs with 20mA each

1st white array:
(6 - 3.5) / 0.06 = 41ohms for each white led (closest commercial value is 43)

2nd white array:
same as above

Red array:
(6 - 2.2)/ 0.06 = 63ohms for each red led (closest is 68)

Resulting in:

a2.png

Can anyone check for me if this is correct?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd