Maker Pro
Maker Pro

FAN5345

Hi everyone! How are you all doing? I'm a newbie here. I just would like to ask your opinion regarding FAN5345 function testing. What I'm actually doing is implementing the application sheet of this chip on breadboard (See attached figure), I have the exact values of the components except Rset which I replaced with 15 ohm resistor instead of 12.4 ohm. I've also decreased the number of LEDs into 6 instead of 8. I think increasing Rset is just appropriate since I used just 6 LEDs instead of 8. Also, I've added a tact switch connected to EN pin for dimming and a 0.1 uF capacitor to eliminate switch bouncing. I thought everything was all set, However when I plugged in the 5V supply for the Vin line, the LEDs didin't light up at all. By the way since I was using a breadboard to test the application of this chip I had to get a SMD to through hole adapter for this chip so I can mount it on breadboard. Here is the application schematic of the chip.

Any ideas as to why my breadboard prototype failed? :( I hope to hear from you. Thanks. :)

Attachments

• FAN5345 SCHEM.png
    FAN5345 SCHEM.png
    59.8 KB · Views: 153
Hi,
The FAN5345 is running at 1.2Mhz, not sure that a breadboarded solution can work. however posting sharp picture(s) of your setup can be a good start to help you.
Olivier

Hi Olivier! Okay I'll just post pictures of my setup tomorrow cause I don't have it with me right now. Thanks a lot. Hope you're still here tomorrow. :)

Harald Kapp

Two simple questions:
1) EN is set to high level? With EN permanentzly low the chip should not start up.
2) Dumb, maybe, but: All LEDs are connected with correct polarity?

Hi Harald! Currently the en pin is connected to a switch. One end of the switch is connected to 5V. There is also a 0.1uF capacitor connected parallel to the switch to eliminate switch bounce.

Here is the current setup on breadboard.

Attachments

• 2014-06-04 10.27.12.jpg
    2014-06-04 10.27.12.jpg