Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Diode help.

Hello, new to this forum.

I'm trying to fabricate an automotive OBDII memory settings retainer for my car radio/ECM using an OBDII male plug and a basic 9V battery, during replacement of the main 12V car battery. I need to wire in a diode to prevent damaging the 9V cell during replacement of the 12v car battery. Which grade of diode should I use? I'm new to non-LED diodes and their parameters. Thanks for any help.

Do you have evidence this will work on your specific vehicles?

If by "basic 9V" you mean the most common PP3 form factor/size, you might find that not only starting with too low a voltage but that voltage dragged down even further because it struggles to supply enough current. While most vehicles in lowest power state only use (approximately) a couple dozen mA, anything made after the carburetor era tends to use hundreds of mA in the woken, yet still engine off, state. Hundreds of mA is beyond the design intentions of a typical 9V battery.

Considering this factor, if you have very little voltage margin as it is, I would choose a diode with a low forward voltage drop like a schottky instead of standard silicon. Cost for a single diode is low so no need to try to get specs that are barely adequate, so I'd get something capable of at least a couple amps (but possibly significantly more, see below comment about lights) and > 15V, but ultimately, I would want a power supply capable of 12V instead of 9V and that can handle far more current to handle situations like the interior lights coming on when the door is open. I could try to guess how much current that is but it will be far more accurate for you to just measure it on the target vehicle(s).

You can probably pull certain fuses to restrict what is drawing current to allow a low current, possibly 9V power source, but it seems more versatile to just build to handle any normal situation with no need to determine which fuses to pull and doing that.