Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Continuous measurement between two points approximately 2.5m apart

Hi, help gratefully requested please. I am a surgeon and use a 'c' arm xray in surgery. The radiation passes between the tips of the C. The C can be moved to take vertical or horizontal images, or anywhere in between as required. I would like to measure the distance between the two points of the C as they possibly open and close by up to 2cms which can distort the images.
I would like to digitally measure the distance as I move the c arm.
Many thanks
Anthony

Yes, the patient will be between the points of the c. But there may still be parts of the machine that would permit a laser measure. No specific brand. I want to be able to look at the moment between the ends to assess image distortion between brands.
The C can rotate around 2 axes to allow imaging in the chosen plane
upload_2021-10-3_8-6-34.png

The radiation emitter and the intensifier are on either end of the c.
The photo here is of a relatively smaller one than normal. When the c moves the two end can come together or separate depending on gravity etc. This distorts the image

Harald Kapp

This is obviously a medical device. We (at least I) strongly discourage you from any tampering whatsoever with a medical device.There are issues of liability involved. If the device has an issue, contact the manufacturer for expert support.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
I have to agree with @Harald Kapp and @bertus (post #6): talk to a sales person FIRST to see if this is a known problem, and if it is a known problem ask what the workaround solution is. Perhaps they will allow you to take a few x-rays of a phantom target to compare performance (legibility, contrast, focus) among brands. Yeah, riiiight!