Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Cheap Chinese Laser Cutters

Ian

Administrator
I've been interested in getting a laser cutter for many years, but until recently they have been prohibitively expensive. A few years ago, there was a flood of cheap K40 CO2 laser cutters/engravers from China - with matching cheap construction/hardware. However, it looks like the quality of these K40 machines has slowly improved over several iterations. They'll likely still need some tinkering to improve the safety/calibration.

I've got no experience with laser cutters, although I've got plenty of experience building/using 3D printers and a little general CNC experience. I often want to build an enclosure or panel and this would be an ideal workshop tool. Using a scroll saw and hand tools doesn't give as clean a finish, particularly with plastics. I could even use @(*steve*)'s box generator :D.

I had a look at AliExpress and found these two machines that stand out as good options:
It's far from certain that I'll buy one of these, but I am very tempted. I was hoping that someone here may have had experience with one of these cheap Chinese made laser cutters and could offer their thoughts - even if it is "avoid at all costs" ;). I'm going to go to our local FabLab and see if I can use their larger machine, to get a feel for it - although it is going to be in a different league to these cheap laser cutters, so won't be like-for-like.

Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
300mm x 200mm is tiny.

The small one I use has a 300mm x 500mm bed, and there are plenty of times when it's too small.

I would agree that getting to know your local hackerspace's laser cutter would be a great idea.

Be aware that CO2 laser tubes require cooling. Our cutters have an external chiller. What do these small tubes use.