Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Capacitor and fuse blown in audio amplifier (integrated in active speaker)

This active speaker was completely silent (but power light lit up) so i opened it up and a fuse (to the left in pic) was blown. When I replaced it, sparks appeared around the fuse and small pops came from the speaker (should have been a warning to me maybe). Anyways... when i turned the power back on, a capacitor (pic center) literally exploded.

I guess replacing the cap isn't going to help.. Can anyone point me in some direction as to where to begin. As you can probably tell I'm not an engineer and don't know what I'm doing :)

ThNks in advance

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    151.6 KB · Views: 630

Harald Kapp

Welcome to the forum.

There are lots of possible causes. It is not unlikely that the capacitor is the culprit. Sometimes electrolsytic capacitors develop a short circuit.
To exclude other possibilities: remove the defect capacitor. Measure the resistance between the two holes where the capacitor was placed. It the resistance is near 0 Ohm, chances are that another componet has developed a short circuit.
If the resistance is noticeably larger tahn 0 Ohm, remove the Ohmmeter. Insert an ammeter between the contacts of the fuse. Turn on the power and wath the current. Is it on the range expected from the ratings of the amplifier (at least much lower than the fuse rating)? If so, replace the defect cap by a new on, insert a fuse of the correct rating and chances are you will be fine.
If the current is way too large, we will have to continue searching for the defect.

Thank you for helping! I was hoping to be be able to fix this myself because the speaker isn't really worth paying a tech to fix.