Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Cable Shielding Question

Hello!

My current question is about shielding on cables. I'm relatively new to electronics. I can solder, burn myself, make blue puffs of smoke and wire the house successfully.

So, I'm part of a reenactment group that just formed and we have a tank. Well, one guy owns it. We get to play with it and such. It's a t-34 modified to look like a tiger. It's actually that tank that was in Saving Private Ryan. It needs work to say the least and we are not rich. Being it's been modified we aren't concerned about refurbishment so much as functionality while keeping it "tanky".

So the owner of the tank has an AM-1780 VIC1, 2 headsets, some cx-4723 and a couple c-2298's. I scored three more cx-2298's off ebay and am negotiating for heasdets with the cables to the c-2298's now. However, I need the cables from the c-2298's to the AM-1780. Lengths vary. They will be connected to a 24v battery, iirc, which is connected to a generator on a detroit diesel. So there is a lot of metal (it's a tank) and noise and I don't really know how much EM noise. However, being the cables are so thick I assumed it was because there was noise. One of the reasons people say they don't use COTS stuff is because of the whine in large metal vehicles.

So from the bow gunners position I need to cable around the tank to the driver, loader, gunner and tank commander positions. Anywhere from 5 feet to maybe 20. Not sure how I'm going to wire up the turret boxes yet to deal with the rotation. The whole system runs on 24V and seems to draw a couple amps.