Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Building a digital clock

Hi
I am pretty new to electronics and have just ordered my first basic electronics kit, but I was wondering how hard it would be to build a basic digital clock, no alarms or anything like that just one that can tell the time and you can set the Time on it, I was thinking of making it with 4 seven segment displays because I think that it would be easier than an LCD screen. I have a couple of questions about one of these though:
What components would I need, for instance seven segment display, switches e.t.c?
What skills would I need for instance microchip programming?
Would this be too difficult for a beginner to build?
Would a seven segment display be easier than an LCD screen?
Would one of these http://www.rapidonline.com/Electronic-Components/Timekeeper-NVRAM-and-serial-RTC-72963 be required?
Thanks in advance :)

How deep do you want to get? The jump to micro controllers can be expensive and have a decent learning curve... You have to decide if taking the 'easy' route like Arduino or PICaxe is for you, or if you should devote your money and time into a full fledged micro working environment...

Personally I think getting an already configured clock kit would be a good place to start with a digital clock for a newbie...

http://www.sparkfun.com/products/10930

This will allow you to focus on soldering skills and assembly skills... The only change I would do is to socket the AVR chip, for removal later... Then if you want to experiment you can remove the chip, start writing your own code (or altering the existing code) and flash the chip and test it on a proven platform... Of course this requires you to take the next step into micro controllers...

It's not hard to make your own, someone experienced with the tools on hand could code and build a clock in a few hours time... But, it would likely take a newbie weeks or even months to do the same...