Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Automatic bicycle hub gear changer using servo

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to electronics and servos, but I have an idea for a project: use a servo motor and PICAXE (or Arduino/similar) micro controller to automatically shift the hub gears on a bicycle depending on the current speed.

The first step is, of course, for the servo motor to be able to actually have enough torque to shift to the next gear. Any recommendations on how to do this (e.g. what motor to use, whether I need gearing etc.)? I'm thinking of having the gear cable wrapped in tension around some sort of spinner mounted to the motor, so that as the motor turns, it pulls or relaxes the gear cable, thus changing the gear.

I then need to be able to program the micro controller to automatically shift to the correct gear, depending on the speed. The speed will be measured through the use of a reed switch and magnet, located on the fork and front-wheel spoke respectively. I have no idea what the best/only approach would be to finding the speed like this (well, I do in principle of course, but not in practice).

These are my main questions for now, but more will follow as these are answered.

Thanks
Fela

Last edited:
The best approach would be for the servo to operate on the gear cable - but even then it would still have to be pretty strong. Anything below 10kg/cm torque is going to be a disappointment. I tried making an animatronic tail a while ago with some 4kg servos pulling cables and that wasnt enough.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
You could perhaps use a stepper motor driving a worm gear, but as a cyclist, that would present 3 issues to me:

1) gear changes might be slow.
2) I don't want gears changing without warning
3) I don't want gears changing at inappropriate times.

Those may not be an issue for you.

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3