Maker Pro
Maker Pro

AC/DC power supply

Hi, I'm new here and may be a little over my head in this subject I'm asking. I have been an electrician for 40 years, but haven't done much in electronics. I have an ac/dc converter that I want to repair if possible, and am wondering if someone might guide me a little through the troubleshooting of it. It is actually a converter for a cooler that plugs into a regular 120 volt outlet and changes it to 12 volt dc for the cooler. It is rated at 1.2 amps. I am not getting any voltage out of it when plugged in. Could someone help me with where to start?
Thanks for any help you can give me.

davenn

hi sparky
welcome to the forums :)

ok are there any fuses in the PSU ? either on the AC or DC side ?
I am assuming you have opened it up and had a look inside ?

its possible that the transformer has a thermal fuse hidden under the paper/plastic wrapping thats over the windings. pretty common these days.
check for continuity of the primary winding with you meter on Ohms range. not sure what you would get on a 120V transformer ( Im in a 240V country) but you should get at least a few 10's of Ohms.
A 240AC to 16VAC that I just tested here has 125 Ohms for the primary winding

try that for a start and report back we can go from there

cheers
Dave

Thanks for the quick reply. There don't seem to be any fuses on the board at all.
I can't determine which is the primary winding solder joints on the circuit board.
thanks again...
By the way, the board I'm working on is a "Data Electronics Device Inc." Model # 1674 Output 12VDC 5A, input 1.2 amps/144 VA
It is an "Igloo Kool mate Converter" Date Code 9/91
Hope this helps identify what I'm working on...
Thanks again..

Last edited:
The transformer primary will be the two connections that go into the wall. You do not need to dismantle anything to check the primary.