Maker Pro
Maker Pro

A question on batteries.

So this will probably come off as a odd question but I just started learning electronics.

If I have two batteries that are the same condition and same voltage ( two identical 9 volt batteries ), Why can't I use the negative terminal of one, and the lead of the other?
If the state of the metals in each terminal is set, and a negative has more electrons then the lead terminal, then why cant it transfer to the other batteries lead?

I would of thought this would be an easy question to answer, but maybe I don't know how to word the question cause for the first time, google turned up nothing.

Hi Welcome to the forum, iam not totally understanding your description on what your trying to achive, i know parallel and series connection of batterys, just your description has me baffled.

Thanks for the welcome.

I'm confused on how batteries work really.
Forgive me it's a crude drawing but...

Of course in the top pictured, there would be 18volts, but I don't get why the bottom wiring
wouldn't produce 9 volts.
The negative terminal holds a negative charge and the other batteries positive terminal is a lead.

Attachments

• sketch.JPG
    sketch.JPG
    36.7 KB · Views: 653
Hi again, your top picture is a series connection of the two batterys, your second drawing can be series or parallel, but there are no leads on one terminal of each battery, so no voltage flows.

I think I might of asked the question wrong.
I'm still not sure how to word it, but thinking about it more, I think my question
might not be so much an electronics question but more a question of how electricity
really works.

The understanding I left school with of electricity was that any "matter" that holds a negative
charge will release any excess electrons to any matter that has less electrons then the
atoms balanced state.

With that image of how dc power flows I can't see in my mind why the negative wouldn't
pass to any positive terminal.