Maker Pro
Maker Pro

A couple of somewhat basic questions.

Hi there, I'm very new to electronics, and to this forum, and just had a couple of questions relating to a few projects I am working on. In general I work with my arduino for projects, everything going through it for a few basic things, but lately I have had a couple of ideas relating to lower power circuits (not using an arduino). So here are the questions, hopefully the nice people on this forum can help!

My first question is: How does one wire up a capacitor in a circuit in order to discharge its charge when it has gathered enough power? (this may be an impossible feat, I am going on an assumption, not 100% sure of how capacitors work if I am honest). Basically I have something with an incredibly small power output that I wish to build up in the capacitor and then discharge at a certain level of charge. Can this be done by the capacitor being wired in series with the power supply?

Secondly, how does one calculate the potential power storage capabilities of a capacitor, voltage and amperes, once again this may be a completely stupid question.

My final questioin pertains to crystal radios. I know that these devices play radio through a crystal earpiece with an extremely high impedance and require no method of amplification. My question is: what is the best way of amplifying the sound with a small battery to increase the power? (A circuit diagram of an amplifier would help me greatly)

Thanks a lot for reading my thread, and sorry for the possibly completely noobish questions! Stick with me and I might improve ha ha. I don't want my hand held with these things but a nudge in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
The first question is difficult to answer. I'm not sure what you're trying to do.

The answer to the second question can be found here. It's 1/2 CV^2 Joules.