Maker Pro
Maker Pro

555 astable circuit help

Hi I am trying to make a 9v flashing led using a 555 time chip (like the diagram attached).

I need the led to be on for 0.5 seconds and off for 2 seconds.

I have basic electronics knowledge and have been trying to research the correct values of the resistors and capacitor but am struggling to get the correct output.

Can someone please help?

Thanks

Attachments

• 555circuit-flashing-led-schematic.gif
    555circuit-flashing-led-schematic.gif
    9 KB · Views: 1,002
I have tried the 555 calculators but it is a bit above my knowledge when it comes to entering the values of the resistors and capacitors to get the desired results. :(

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
OK, firstly, in the circuit you have shown, the LED will always be on for longer than it is off.

To change that, connect the LED and the resistor between the output and +9V.

Remember that the LED is a polarised component, so the opposite end must now be closest to pin 3. It doesn't matter if thee resistor goes before or after the LED, as long as you have it.

Now you want the output to be high for 2 sec and low for 0.5.

then try R1 = 470k, R2 = 150k, C1 = 4.7uF

This will give you 2.02 seconds and 0.49 seconds

I have amended the diagram to represent the recommended changes.

(I haven't changed the resistor values only the wiring to make sure it is correct).

Attachments

• 555circuit-flashing-led-schematic2.gif
    555circuit-flashing-led-schematic2.gif
    17 KB · Views: 193
I just use falstads for 555 timing :)

www.falstad.com/circuit/e-555square.html‎

Or here is a link to your updated circuit.