Maker Pro
Maker Pro

2-stage Class A Amplifier: Gains(voltage and power)

Hi there! I am a electronics technology student, i would like to ask about how to calculate the power gain and voltage gain for a 2 stage class A amplifier. And what transistor i should use and what will be my frequency range for my audio amp.

Well that would depend on the use of the amp.
20 - 20,000Hz is the general audio frequencies.
Or for low bass 20Hz and lower.

Martin

Well that would depend on the use of the amp.
20 - 20,000Hz is the general audio frequencies.
Or for low bass 20Hz and lower.

Martin
Sorry for my delay response. Ah, yes i used 20-20kHz. Thanks for affirming the freqs . Can u cite transistors that is suitable for Class A Amps? Sir Martin? :)

Hi Mark,
I couldn't possibly say.
What circuit have you designed?
A small signal transistor to a mosfet will do.
A BJT will require about 0.7v and a mosfet about 3v or more.
If you upload the circuit diagram I am sure somebody will be able to help you.

Martin

You don't want each stage to be more than about 50, otherwise you will get a lot of instability - called "motorboating."
When we talk about a "gain of 50" we mean voltage gain for the first stage - called the pre-amplifier stage and a "gain of 50" - meaning a current gain for the output stage.

Mark, stop calling me sir! please:)
Pretty much any transistor. The 2N2222 will be just fine.
It's the circuit that makes an amp or a switch. Not the transistor. The transistor can be used for both.

Martin

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3
Sir Martin :p has given you good advice but I'm curious.. You didn't state what your input source or output load will be. Did your instructor specify these?

Chris

@Martaine2005 Sorry for calling you Sir, SIR MARTIN! :p It is my way of respecting! :) Anyways thanks a lot for the clarification