Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Will a dimmer switch work instead of an incandescent light bulb in asimple battery charger?

The other day, I came upon this: http://www.alpharubicon.com/elect/3dollarbattggn.htm

It's plans for a very simple battery charger that uses a light bulb and diode in series to make a constant current battery charger. Benefits include pulse charging for desulfation and the fact that it can charge batteries of any voltage.

Well, with incandescent light bulbs getting scarce and me having many different size batteries needing different size currents, I'm wondering if a dimmer switch would work instead? If so, what kind? If not, can you tell me why? I'm just getting into this stuff (despite being a computer science majorand having taken electronics courses) and want to learn all I can.

M

mike

The other day, I came upon this: http://www.alpharubicon.com/elect/3dollarbattggn.htm

It's plans for a very simple battery charger that uses a light bulb and diode in series to make a constant current battery charger. Benefits include pulse charging for desulfation and the fact that it can charge batteries of any voltage.

Well, with incandescent light bulbs getting scarce and me having many different size batteries needing different size currents, I'm wondering if a dimmer switch would work instead? If so, what kind? If not, can you tell me why? I'm just getting into this stuff (despite being a computer science major and having taken electronics courses) and want to learn all I can.

Incandescent light bulbs make wonderful current limiters for charging
batteries
as long as you watch the voltage and don't overcharge.
But you'll forget and you WILL overcharge.
But use a transformer to keep from electrocuting yourself.

I won't argue the merits of pulse charging, but most any battery
charger will do the same thing that this one does.

And that same goodwill store will sell you an actual battery charger for
about the same price.