Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Where do I go now to learn more? (Self taught prop/toy maker)

Hi all,

I'm trying to cut a long story short here, so bear with me, lol.

Due to health issues I've been out of work for over a decade - tried some work from home, made condition worse :(
In an effort to be productive I've taught my self some basics of electronics, woodworking, metal working and knife making all with limited tools. My current goal is to combine a bit of all of these (well, except the knife making) to make props and toys for people of all ages.

However...

If I want to make a toy/prop that reacts to different sensors/buttons and plays different MP3's or sounds where should I head in the wonderful world of electronics to learn how to design and/or build this item.

Please note that I've turned to Youtube to learn about electronics, but all the lessons only go as far as the 555 timer chip... nothing else. Where should I turn and what subjects should I look up?

Thanks in advance for any advice, suggestions or constructive criticism.

Mike

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Two options that come immediately to mind are to hang around here and/or join a hackerspace.

Hmm, think I shall do both! lol.

Steve, thanks for the quick reply. Are there any keywords that I should use in my search on this site?

Hi Mike,
The resource section would be a good read.
I do have to strongly disagree with you about Youtube videos only going as far as the 555 though.
It totally depends on what you want to learn about!
What have you got in mind to learn about?

Martin

Hi Martaine2005,

The point about Youtube is only based on my limited experience and, because I'm not too sure of what I'm looking for (terminology and the like) I am probably missing something...

I'm basically wanting to learn how to make a device that can play different pre-recorded sounds (MP3, or whatever I can use). But, have NO idea where to start learning... any pointers?