Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Week 9/11 Progress(?)

Well my Solid State class is in the final stretch. I've picked an amplifier circuit to use, begun the process of putting it together. I had breadboarded and tested it, blew up a npn in the process of experimenting with a trimmer in R1 (had the wrong pins to the emitter leg). And now as I piece it together and solder I find my soldering iron is not helping, The soldering process isn't going as well as when I first soldered and that being said I've only done about 5..6 projects maybe. I'm debating replacing the iron because of this.
Overall this amplifier make process has been rather disheartening.

I'm new to soldering and for whatever reason I have yet to grasp the solder I was using actually repelled from the board and the iron, it balled up on itself.
At this time the problem is affecting my efforts to solder a circuit that's due by next class and I don't know if it's the solder or the iron that's the cause of the problem.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Are you using tin/lead solder? Or lead-free?

Can you tin the tip of the iron?

Is the iron temperture-controlled? If so, what temperature is it set at? If not, what wattage is it?

Upload some photos, or if you have a YouTube channel, put a video there and link to it.

I'm having issues w/ photos at the moment. The iron isn't temperature controlled, and I cannot tin the tip. Looking up I believe it may be a dirty tip(?) so I'll work on cleaning it when I have the resources. As for the solder was using the package read Tin/Copper solder. Can the iron itself be cleaned as well? The "Body" has since gone from the a clean metal look to a dirtier look.. I'm thinking there may have been something I missed about handling and care.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015