Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Vreg heat issue and PCB power consumption questions

Hi everyone!
I have a board that takes 24VDC and steps it down to 5VDC with a MCP1827 Voltage regulator. The board uses a few IC's and lights 8LED's for status indications.
In testing i noticed that the VREG put off a LOT of heat- to the point where the chip just shut down and discolored.
I put a heat sink on a new regulator and it's still gets pretty hot but it works. I'm pulling 1/4 Amp on the 24DC side of things...

I'm wondering if there's a better way to step 24DV down to 5V, and if there are any recommendations for low power/high brightness LED's that can ease the current draw of my board.

Thanks

Ah you're right, i'm sorry its a MC7800 in the TO-220 package

I was using the MCP for a Vref regulator. Wrong datasheet :eek:

I have no experience with switch mode regulators. Do they need heat sinks? I'm working with a limited foot print on this board.
A switch mode would be able to take the 19v drop?

Unfortunately i'm not 100% sure what the power requirement is but the regulator is supplying 13 IC's and 8 LED's
I tried doing a power requirement calculation before but i don't think i went about it properly, and I don't remember the result

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
How much board real estate can this regulator use?

GonzoEngineer has a very valid point, and you're going to have to do that calculation -- properly -- before you can be certain how to go ahead.

But let's assume that 250mA is close to the maximum for the sake of argument.

You should be able to achieve 80% efficiency in your regulator without any trouble. So for 5V 250mA (1.25W) output, you would expect less than 300mW of heat generated by a switchmode regulator. You won't need a heatsink. (Much of that dissipation will be in the inductor and the diode, not the regulator itself in any case)