Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Using USB or wall charger to power breadboard

Hi guys!

Is there any problem to use USB power directly from a PC (like a laptop) to power a breadboard?

What about wall chargers? Can I use them to power breadboards?

Thanks in advance!

Is there any problem to use USB power directly from a PC (like a laptop) to power a breadboard?

Not if you don't screw something up. Problem is a slip is bound to happen and you might short the USB power or similar. It's easier and cheaper to replace a wall wart than a PC or laptop.

What about wall chargers? Can I use them to power breadboards?

Yep. Just make sure the voltage and current specs meet your needs and that it's DC (for DC circuits). Keep in mind that cheap unregulated wall adapters can be rated for 11VDC (applies to all voltages, 11 is just an example) but output upwards of 15 volts with little to no load.

Hi. Thanks for answering.

I am new to electronics.

How could I short the USB when making connections with the breadboard?

What does VDC means? What is an unregulated wall adapter?

davenn

Hi. Thanks for answering.
I am new to electronics.
How could I short the USB when making connections with the breadboard?

you mite accidently put a short circuit across the +5V and the ground connection from the USB cable
where it connects to the breadboard the breadboard or some where else in the circuit.

This at least could damage and make the USB port unuseable
At worst, seriously damage the computer.

What does VDC means?

VDC = Volts Direct Current ........ VAC = Volts Alternating Current

What is an unregulated wall adapter?

cheers
Dave

DC power supplies come in 2 main flavours

Unregulated ... this means that the AC from the transformer goes to rectifier diodes and then to the
output with a smoothing capacitor between the +VDC and 0V the voltage has NOT been stabilised
and as LTX71CM said a power supply, say 12VDC may have a no-load output of up to around 16V