Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Uln2003 Stepper motor controller help

Hello, my name is josh and im a 14 y/o electrical hobbyist. My current project is a XY plotter with two dvd rom trays. I am on a very low budget,(5 dollars) and i need a controller and schematic for it. i have looked into a uln2003 and i am going to buy some. My question is how do i hook up two stepper motors to two uln2003's and hopefully use a db25. Here is a picture of the machine. Thank you for your help.

Attachments

• IMG_0778[1].jpg
    IMG_0778[1].jpg
    135.3 KB · Views: 3,150

Fish4Fun

So long, and Thanks for all the Fish!
Hey Josh Welcome to the forum!

First, I am glad to see someone your age interested in electronics and stages!

This is a typical 28BYJ-48//ULN2003 Stepper/Driver: http://www.ebay.com/itm/DC-5V-Stepp...941?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3385233045 . It might be easier for you to simply order 2 steppers//dirvers from e-bay (the ones linked are slightly over your $5 budget @ $7.90 for 2 including shipping, but if you don't mind waiting you can likely get them from China for a bit less.)

CNC is a hobby of mine, and I have tinkered with all sorts of steppers, but I have never played with any of the old floppy steppers, so I don't know if they are typically unipolar or bipolar. I have seen some pretty amazing stages built using salvaged steppers, but a frequent problem with salvaged steppers is figuring out how to drive them properly.

If you want to investigate what others have done with salvaged PC Steppers here are a few links:

http://www.epanorama.net/circuits/diskstepper.html

http://bildr.org/2012/11/big-easy-driver-arduino/

http://forums.parallax.com/showthre...Stepper-Motor-with-high-speed-spin-up-circuit

Fish

That i could probably go over my budget for but i have one question, i dont have an aurduino and could i hook it up to a db25?

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3