Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Starting DC motor by squeezing handle

Hi, I am a newbie when it comes to electronics and circuits but would like help with an experiment I am working on.

With a round handle (aprox 15-20mm diameter) I want to be able to send a current to start a small DC motor based on how hard the handle is squeezed. I don't want the motor to run when the handle is squeezed say 5,6 or 7 on a scale of 1-10 (will take some trial and error to figure out exactly how hard that is) but if the handle is squeezed harder or lighter than that range I want it to run the motor. I am thinking I would also need a switch to turn it off so when nobody is holding it the motor isn't running. If it isn't possible to start the motor when squeezed both lighter and harder than the range then I at least want it to start the motor when it is squeezed harder than the desired range. All of the components would need to fit inside the handle which will be 10-12 inches long (so all stacked on top of each other).

As I mentioned I have very little knowledge in this area but I have some battery holders with attached leads and a DC Motor. Once I get a switch and whatever else I need I really have no idea how to connect it all together. Also, based on some of the research I have done I came across piezo film sensors and thought that could possibly be wrapped around the handle but I was wondering if that is the best way to do it or if there was other options. It needs to be able to withstand a little bit of wear and tear. It won't be thrown around but could be dropped occasionally.

Any suggestions??

Thanks

I don't think you will get very good answers with the vague description you have given.

Is this handle something that deforms when squeezed, or is it a solid piece of tubing that does not deform, or is it two pieces that come together when squeezed like a hand brake on a bicycle, or something else entirely?

A better description and pictures would help.

Bob