Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Setting up idiot led's...

Hi,

I have a work truck that has had an independent ground line ran from wire cluster under the dash to the taillights. The previous owner had done this so they could tell when one of the bulbs blew by having the ground line run through a filament bulb before going to the lights.

I have upgraded the taillights from filament to leds. The leds lights don't draw enough current to power the filament bulbs on the dash. I was thinking of replacing the filament bulb with a led. However, I know I can't/shouldn't run the ground through the led to power the taillights. But, that I could use a transistor (thinking an NPN) that would turn on the led idiot light when there was current being supplied to the taillights.

The problem is, I can't quite figure out how to set this up. I am new to the electronics field, and have watched several youtube videos on npn, pnp, mosfets, etc, and I'm still fuzzy about it all.

I think I need an npn transistor that has a resistor bridging base/collector (?) with the emitter going to the led. When power is supplied, the transistor would turn on providing the negative supply to the led. Am I thinking correctly here? If so, what size resistor would i use?

Btw, the led idiot lights are 12V automotive grade, so they have a resistor built in the unit.

I think that's everything.

Thanks,
Kori

Harald Kapp

A common circuit for detecting current flow is this:
upload_2017-4-1_18-6-53.png

The current though the taillight (taillightcurrent) develops a voltage drop V=R*I across the bottom resistor R1. When the voltage across R1 reaches 0.7 V (approx.), transistor Q1 will turn on and the 'idiot'light (modeled by LED D2 with current limiting resistor R2) will turn on.
When there is no taillight current, the 'idiot' light will be off.