Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Robust delay circuit?

Hi,
I'm a mechanical engineer that recently started to look into some electronics due to a rare car I'm driving that have electrical problems...

One of the problems is a halogen bulb that melts down the housing of the lights so I'm looking to design a circuit that could replace the halogen bulb with a LED-equivalent, but does not give bulb-failure indication and not building unnecessary heat.

For this I'm planning to use a circuit that switches of the the power resistor (or some other current limiting device) after like 2s.

Since I'm a novice in electrical engineering I'm having trouble figuring out what would be the best way to switch off the resistance circuit after 2s.

Supply is pulsating like the indicators on the car, but the same bulb is also brake light, so when holding the brake pedal it's constant 12V on supply side, but during brake light no bulb failure indication is active, so I want to turn off the circuit not to build excessive heat.

As I'm a mechanical engineer I'm thinking like valves, I need a normaly closed valve, that will open when supply has been on longer than 2s and will close again directly when supply is off. So when indicators are on, current will flow through the resistor (since indicator is like 1s on 1s off 1s on...) but when brake light is on, no current needs to flow through the resistor and only the LEDs.

I feel kind of stupid not to figure it out so any help is appriciated :)

Best solution would be to have supply and trigger the same (meaning no constant supply to the delay circuit)

Attachments

• led_resistor.jpg
    led_resistor.jpg
    13.6 KB · Views: 85
If you aren't concerned for the loss of power (i.e. power saving is not an issue) then simply connect a suitable 'bleed' resistor across the LED to draw the 'difference current' between the LEDs consumption and that required to maintain the monitoring current flow.