Maker Pro
Maker Pro

RC-filter for electret mic and USB sound card

I want to filter out frequencies lower than 500 Hz for an electret microphone, but as I'm quite new to electronic circuits I'm not sure if I'm doing things right.. The attached picture shows what I have tried so far, but without luck.

Using a mulitmeter I have found that the microphone I have has a resistance of 1400Ω. For testing I have used a capacitor of 220nF and a 1000Ω resistor - that should give a cutoff frequency of about 723 Hz.

The problem is; there is no sound at all! Without the filter the setup works fine.

Can anyone help me? What am I doing wrong?

Best regards,
Even

Attachments

• mic.png
    mic.png
    182.5 KB · Views: 1,345

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Hi Even and welcome to Electronics Point :)

An electret microphone needs DC bias. The circuit board must be providing this. When you connect the capacitor in series, you remove the DC bias and the microphone stops working.

I can't think of any simple way to do what you want.

What is your end goal?
You can always run captured audio through a filter with a program like Audacity.

Windows has a built in EQ as well that you can use to drastically reduce 500 and below... but this only works with 'playback' devices and won't work on the captured audio.

Kris... would an RL highpass circuit work instead of an RC highpass? There would be a DC offset across the inductor and microphone in parallel.

KrisBlueNZ

I suppose you could connect an inductor across the microphone. You would need a DC blocking capacitor in series with it. This forms a series tuned circuit but with a large capacitor, the resonant frequency could be so low as to be irrelevant. But the inductor would need to be a pretty high value. Let's assume a circuit resistance of 1k and a -3 dB frequency of 723 Hz as before. So XL needs to be 1000Ω at f = 723 Hz.
XL = 2 pi f L
L = XL / 2 pi f
= 1000 / (2 × pi × 723)
= 0.22 H