Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Proper Usage of Oscilloscope (40 Marks)

Hey guys!

I have a bit of work I need to do, one of the questions is as follows (40 marks).

-----------------------------------------
Figure 1 below shows a two channel analog oscilloscope, which has a maximum input voltage of 10 volts. You are required to use the oscilloscope to measure:

i. a dc voltage which is approximately 4 volts in value.
ii. a signal comprising of a dc part (~ 4 volts) and an ac part (~ 100 mV peak to peak and 50kHz).

Describe in detail the proper measurement procedure to obtain accurate measurements of the two signals.
You should pay particular attention to the settings of the input, vertical and horizontal controls, and the timebase.

Link to figure 1: http://i59.tinypic.com/2mockdj.png
-----------------------------------------

I am not very good with oscilloscopes so far, but am keen to improve my understanding. If you could help me answer the question but also explain the 'why' behind your comments, that would be great - otherwise I'll never learn :)

Another thing that is throwing me off is that it is worth 40 marks, this seems a lot for just adjusting some controls so I am assuming there is more to it that I haven't heard of yet.

For the 4 volts DC signal:

You would need to first attach one channel (CH2) to ground and the other to the 4V supply voltage.
You would then set the volt/divisions to 1V (As this means each square will correspond to 1V, so you can easily count the amount of squares to measure the voltage)
The timebase would be 0.1mS?

I am not really sure on what else you would need to do but I NEED to expand on this as its worth so many marks.

For the ac+dv voltage, I don't really have much to go on yet, but hopefully you'll be able to help!

Thanks in advance

davenn

Hi Ferrock
welcome to EP

OK being a homework/study question
we are not going to give you the answers outright. but will help you through to a result :)

For the 4 volts DC signal: