Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Problem: Schmitt Trigger not giving ON/OFF output

Hi. This should be easy question to answer, but I am a noob so... sorry, but I build a Non-symmetrical Schmitt Trigger using an op-amp UA741CP and 3 10K resistors.

Power supply is 5V. So, as far I found on the internet the output should be 0V when Vin is above the threshold, and the output should be 5V when Vin is below the other threshold.

Source: http://howtomechatronics.com/how-it-works/electrical-engineering/schmitt-trigger/
Non-Symmetrical-Schmitt-Trigger.png

The threshold for turning ON is 1.6V and the threshold for turning OFF is 3.3V. That part is working fine. But the output is not really 0V for OFF, is actually 1.6V. And the output is not really 5V, is actually 3.3V.

This is what I did:
my_Non_symmetrical_Schmitt_Trigger.jpg

Why output is not ON/OFF (5V/0V)? I am using the wrong op-amp, or I did something wrong?

I really appreciate some help, because google didn't help me on this question.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
You have 2 problems.

The first is that the 741 is not really specced to operate from a power supply as low as you are using.

The second problem is that the 741 can't drive the outputs close to the power supply rails.

What you want to look for is an op-amp which has "rail to rail" outputs, and is specced to operate from a 5V single ended power supply. I'm not in a position to look one up for you right now.

The datasheet of the 741 say should work fine with 5V:

Screen_Shot_2016_01_23_10_14_04_001.jpg

But still, I don't know why some websites, like I mention, say output should be 0V when OFF and 5V when ON.

I think the problem might be related to the offset thing, that I don't know what really does.

I found on the internet this op-amp: LT1219L. Should that work?
Should be fine (albeit expensive).
As for offset-nulling on the 741, read the guidance in its datasheet.