Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Powering & Illuminating a Clock

Hello forum. Noob here, pleased to meet you.:D

I have a battery operated clock that I want to adapt for AC, and illuminate it with two constant running LEDs.

The clock was designed for two AA batteries, so I figured I'd get a 3 volt wall adapter, cut the end off, and wire it to the batt terms. They're on ebay as cheap as a dollar. What's involved with wiring in two high intensity LEDs? I've found 3 volt LEDs, but it seems they're sensitive to mA. most run at 250, and most wall adapters put out 400-1000mA.(the switchable multi-volt adapters put out 1000). I read the MODS sticky on LEDs, but it's way over my head. I do understand that they need to be either in series with one resistor, or parallel with 2 resistors. Which is better for my application?

What LEDs should I use, and what resistors? And will the mA rating on the adaptor effect the operation of the clock itself?

The LEDs will be on 24/7, so should I look for a higher capacity LED, like 4 volt? or underpower the amperage?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.:confused:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Check the sticky on driving LEDs here again, and tell me what you don't understand. You only need to read the first 2 sections. One of the first thing you should note is that LEDs DO NOT have voltage ratings per se. 250mA would be enough to illuminate a room, way to much for a backlight on a clock.

Note that at 3V you're going to have trouble with any colours other than red, green, or yellow. And 20mA is the current you'd want to use.

A 3V adapter would require lots of filtering (say 1000uF) so that you don't see too much ripple (since the clock circuit is expecting DC from a battery and may be quite sensitive to noise).

The output voltage may also be way higher than 3V. Anything higher than about 3.4V would be a bad thing.