Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Power Supply Cap Basic Replacement Advice

Hi folks! Friendly looking forum! I'm excited to dig around to learn lots on this crazy journey of learning basic electronics.

So yes, I'm a noob. I've read a lot, checked out a lot of videos, read a couple of good books, and proudly (and successfully) built a few Radio Shack projects, woot! This was all because I can't afford to buy new PA speakers to replace my Behringer Eurolive 212D's that have been fritzing out -- and I need my speakers back! (full-time music professor = no budget ;). So disclaimer done. Here come the questions (with a little background):

- The issue is definitely with the power supply, and most surely the caps. A few are visibly bloated, and using a cheap ESR meter on all the caps, 20 out of 31 test too low on board. The speaker doesn't keep its charge for more than a split second, but after power-cycling the thing around 20 times, it stays on. It gradually got worse after time... again, from what I've read, a cap issue. All the caps are Decons (SH/SAII/SHL @ 105 or 85C) with a few KSDs (85C), and from my reading, it's best just to swap them all out for higher grade and more reliable Japanese caps... QUESTION: Panasonic or Nichicon or ...? Or does it matter (which of those higher end brands)? I'll be sure to keep capacitance the same and aim to keep the voltage the same or a little higher. I'm also thinking of increasing all the 85C caps to 105C... Am I on the right track?

- What are the go-to online stores to buy parts? I don't need massive bulk, since I'm only planning on repairing things only when I really have to! But I'm sure buying each cap separately would cost more than if I bought 10 or so of each type... Is Mouser the way to go? Unfortunately, I don't have a brick-and-mortar around for easy access.