Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Phase locked loop FM demodulator

I have made the phase locked loop in FM demodulating mode, using NE/SE565.
I am new to electronics and have very little background in making circuits.

I plan to use this to detect frequency of a oscillating AFM tip(tuning fork) and to convert it to a voltage signal.

However, I am not sure how to check the performance of this circuit,
as shown in the data sheet i get the output of pin 4 and 9 square wave of free running frequency and a triangle wave.
it says out put is a dc level?

when I check the output between v7-v6, what kind of output waveform i should expect to see in oscilloscope and how should it be changed when i change the input signal frequency?

please help
Thanks

datasheet :http://www.classiccmp.org/rtellason/chipdata/ne565.pdf

DJ

Pin 9 should have a negative-polarity triangle wave; and pin 4 around 6V peak-to-peak positive pulse - but offset a bit under zero volts - so dipping a bit negative. Neither should change with input frequency - the VCO center frequency is set by the resistor and cap on pins 8 and 9. What I'd like to know is where you found the IC you're working with? I thought these parts went obsolete in the late 1980s - and they are somewhat scarce these days.

Thanks a lot for your reply!
I just had to continue someone else's project! well i think he found it from some old book! May be i should go for LM565 or some other new one( do you have any recommendations?)

However I guess there should be an "expected output and how it should change according to the input" fact in generally to any PLL in FM demodulation mode? can you explain that to me?

DJ

However I guess there should be an "expected output and how it should change according to the input" fact in generally to any PLL in FM demodulation mode? can you explain that to me?