Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Op-amp based current sensing

Hi, I’m trying to build a Li-ion charger and finally found a chip that suits my needs (namely low cost, low complexity and one that can charge a 12V or 4-18650 cells in series Li-Ion cells). The LT1513 works great because it can operate above, below or at the battery voltage. This reduces the strain on building a power supply with high voltages. The only issue I’m facing is charge termination. The LT1513 has a shutdown pin that shuts the charger down when pulled low. I looked at some charger protection and controller ICs but they are too complex for my liking and do not give me options to switch battery configurations. The next best thing I thought of was an op-amp based current sensing and using the output of the op-amp to shut down the charger once the charging current has reached a specific level.

I’m fairly new to op-amps and was hoping someone might guide me a bit in the direction of current sensing op-amps and some of the most commonly used ones. The typical charger current is 500mA and the current sensing should be at 10% of this charger current i.e. 50mA.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
The general idea is that you insert a low-value resistor (called a current shunt) in series with the charge path and use a differential amplifier to measure the voltage across that resistor.

Generally you want this current to produce a voltage that is relative to the 0V rail, so you can easily compare it to an adjustable threshold, or acquire it with a microcontroller.

Depending on how the 0V rail is arranged, you may be able to insert the resistor in the negative connection to the battery; in this case, the voltage across it is already referenced to 0V so the measuring/monitoring circuit can be simpler.