Maker Pro
Maker Pro

need help with reducing DC voltage

I'm a beginner in electronics, so please keep things simple.

I'm re-designing an air pump for a Sleep Number bed. It uses electro-magnetic solenoids to actuate valves to control the inflation and deflation of the two sides of the bed. It is a very poorly designed system and is plagued with leaking problems.

Instead of solenoids actuating valves in a leaky plastic box, I have designed a system of electro-magnetic air valves to control inflation and deflation. The OEM solenoids are custom designed and I can't get the specs. I fired up the pump and measured the voltage from the circuit board to the solenoids and got a 100v DC measurement.

Unfortunately, I can only get air valves in 120v AC, 12v DC or 24v DC. It seems to me, (based on my limited knowledge and experience), that I should be able to utilize the 100v DC outputs from the circuit board by reducing the voltage to 24v DC using resistors.

Is it as simple as computing the voltage differential between the 100v and 24v and then calculating the correct resistor to 'consume' the 76v difference? Or is there something else I need to do?

Thanks,

GeoD

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
It seems to me, (based on my limited knowledge and experience), that I should be able to utilize the 100v DC outputs from the circuit board by reducing the voltage to 24v DC using resistors.

No, it's not that easy unfortunately.

You may need a separate power supply for your valves and design some circuitry to trigger this based on the 100V signal.

The 120V AC valves will probably work on DC. You may need to drop the DC voltage to around 50V with a resistor equal to the valve resistance.

I have some 240V AC Norslo relays here.
They pull in and drop out at 130V AC.
They pull in at 60V DC and drop out at 7V DC.

Some experimentation would be needed.