Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help diagnose Acer LCD monitor

Hi,

Recently found from storage a 17" Acer LCD monitor which I remembered was kept as
spare. The model is AL1717 and I try to connect this monitor to a working CPU.
Upon switching the monitor power button, the monitor display yellow standby light. Then after switching on the CPU power, the monitor briefly display about 2 second of Asrock logo (this is the CPU motherboard I am using); after that the monitor just shows blank black screen. By tilting a bit of my view, I can manage to see some gray shadow of Windows 98 screen (the OS I am testing).

Later I shut off all the equipment and changed to another same model monitor which fully displayed Windows 98 screen properly. Any help to diagnose the earlier 17" Acer AL1717 blank monitor is appreciated. I have some experience doing some testing using digital multimeter and capacitor meter with basic soldering skill.

Attachments

• IMG_0401.jpg
    IMG_0401.jpg
    89.8 KB · Views: 131
  • IMG_0405.jpg
    IMG_0405.jpg
    132.3 KB · Views: 153

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
The first thing I suspect will be failed capacitors in the power supply.

The first thing to do is open up the monitor. If this is like most, it is a case of undoing a stack of catches around the bezel. I do this by getting some plastic (I cut up a plastic milk bottle, soft drink bottle etc) and wedging them into the join between the two halves then sliding them along. The first one is always the hardest and I have used up to 6 pieces of plastic to stop the catches from doing themselves back up. Once you have a side and a corner done it gets pretty easy.

Then it's a case of removing a metal cover, detaching some connectors (sometimes before, sometimes after, and removing the power supply board. (Easily identified, it has the mains power connector on it).

You will be rewarded with a board that most likely has four or more swollen capacitors.