Maker Pro
Maker Pro

multiple 555 servo control question

Hi, I'm new to this site.

I am building a robotics controller for part of a junior design project at university. I am studying mechanical engineering, and would appreciate any input to this question:

Anyway, my robot has 4 servos. I am using potentiometers from a model airplane controller to adjust pulse width for speed and direction control of modified servos. Anyway, I plan to use one 555 timer in astable mode setting a clock frequency of 50hz, triggering monostable 555's which set the pulse width. I'm sure you are familiar with this type of application. On to the question:

Will it be okay to use a single astable 555 to trigger all 4 monostables, or do I need to set up an astable/monostable combo using a 556 chip for each servo? To reduce parts count and space in the controller, i'd like to use a single astable 555 and combine the 4 monstables on 2x 556 ICs. opinions will be greatly valued.

Thanks!

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
The trigger input has a far higher impedance that the output of the 555. You should be able to drive many 555 trigger inputs from the output of a 555.

The important considerations are the polarity of the trigger signal and the length of the trigger pulse (but I'm sure you're aware of that). I would be thinking about something like this.

Thank you! The astable trigger is normally high, with short low triggers around 0.4ms, which then triggers the monostables. I have all that modeled in Multisim and working well, but the provided link confirmed what I'm doing.

Since I'm running all 4 outputs as monostable, 2x 556 should be fine, but the 558 really intrigues me. What do you think? I am also having trouble locating the 558 for sale.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
I think that it doesn't matter how wonderful a chip is, if you can't get them they may as well not exist.