Maker Pro
Maker Pro

mosfet power supply issue

Let me preface this post by telling anyone kind enough to answer that I am a TOTAL newbie to electronics and am unfamiliar with most of the jargon I see being used in this forum. So PLEASE answer as though you were addressing a rather dense pre-schooler......I'll be gratefull rather than offended. Having said that, here is the issue I'm facing. I am using a DC3v-5v mosfet with a momentary remote transmitter. Am basically using the mosfet as a witch to turn a 1.5v mini hobby motor on and off. The problem is that when I use a 3v battery for the mosfet, it only works for a very brief period of time before the battery drains, and the battery seems to continue draining further overnight, when not in use. I switched to a 6v battery for the mosfet and it's working just dandy. After over 4 total hours of use (about an hour of continuous on/off clicking at a time), the mosfet is not heating up or misbehaving. My question is.....is it safe to continue using the 6v battery, or am I asking for trouble down the line with the mosfet. This whole setup is part of a very small magic prop, and all the electronic components must fit into a 3"x2"x1" project box, so I have very little available room to add other components. Thanks in advance for any advice offered.

Hi Tamara,

Welcome to the forum :)

Would you be able to sketch how you have wired up the transistor, battery, motor and output from the remote transmitter?

Maybe using the MOSFET as a witch might be the issue ;)

Harald Kapp

A schematic diagram is really the first step to help us guide you along.
Also state the type of mosfet (part number) and of the batteries you use or used.