Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Microcontroller LiPo Charger

Hi All,

As a novice, I am attempting to design a micro controller LiPo battery charger with state of health monitoring. I have produced a very basic circuit diagram and would appreciate it if somebody with a sound knowledge of electronics could cast their eyes over it and assess the circuit for feasibility and whether or not it will function as expected.

The circuit is designed to charge a single cell LiPo using a CC/CV approach, with a PWM controlled MOSFET. The state of health monitoring is implemented using a dual pulse method, where an initial small load is applied to the battery to stabilise the discharge, then a larger load is applied and the battery voltage measured. The internal resistance can be worked out using this voltage, the load resistance and the open cell voltage.

Any thoughts will be much appreciated!

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 13.45.18.png
    Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 13.45.18.png
    38.9 KB · Views: 163
Hello James, welcome to EP. Your MOSFETs appear to be enhancement type, is this correct. Your Charging MOSFET looks like it's upside down. Check where your source connection should be for a P-Channel type. Also how is this circuit going to supply constant current? What charging voltage are you using? You will also need a timer to switch off charging in the event of circuit sensing malfunction after a pre-set about of time dependant on the battery capacity.
Thanks
Adam

Hello James, welcome to EP. Your MOSFETs appear to be enhancement type, is this correct. Your Charging MOSFET looks like it's upside down. Check where your source connection should be for a P-Channel type. Also how is this circuit going to supply constant current? What charging voltage are you using? You will also need a timer to switch off charging in the event of circuit sensing malfunction after a pre-set about of time dependant on the battery capacity.
Thanks
Adam