Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LTspice - Capacitor controlled on voltage feedback

Hello everyone.

I am a master student of Nanotechnology. I found this forum in my search on info on how to implement a non linear capacitor in LTspice. Specificaly, I am trying to simulate the eigenfrequency shift of a physical oscillatory system versus the change of one of its parameters. For that reason I have realised an LT spice simulation including an electrical circuit which provides the initial stimulus, a transformer that forwards the signal to the "mechanical domain equivalent" cirquit and at the same time feeds it back into the original electrical system which at the same time acts as the measuring device. The measured output should be the current on the capacitor of my circuit ( which I include below ). The problem lies in the fact that if you define a linear model for a capacitor in your electrical domain, the oscillation effect gets dampened for the reason that the linear model is no more able to take into account the fringing time-dependent electric field created if you force one of the plates of a real parallel plate capacitor in motion.

The trick I first used is to define a voltage driven current source instead of the capacitor Cload which seems to solve the problem but which I am not sure is the best solution from the point of view of the corresponding physics. So, I am trying to implement the following refinement:

I would like to define a non linear capacitor whose capacitance is preferably dependent on the gate voltage. My idea is to exploit the depletion region of a MOS device ( not a transistor JUST a MOS capacitor) because the capacitance at any operating point within the depletion region is a function of the bias gate voltage. e.g. Cload=C(Vgate)