Maker Pro
Maker Pro

I need help indentifying a component for an old CRT TV

Hi,
Im not really tech savvy but Im desperately trying to repair an old Sony Trinitron CRT TV. Ive taken it to an electrician and from what he told me that this is the part that needs replacing (The one with TDK written on it). He surprisingly doesnt know where to get the component or what it is so Im hoping anyone here could tell me what the component is atleast help me find out what it is. Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks

Attachments

• WhatsApp Image 2016-11-18 at 19.15.37.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2016-11-18 at 19.15.37.jpeg
    111.5 KB · Views: 152
If the electricion does ot know what it is, how does he know it is faulty?
I think it is a ferrite cored transformer in the power supply. Probably not faulty.

To the left of the picture are two fat capacitors. These are intended to smooth the rectified mains. One of the capacitors has a domed top and will be faulty. Replace both, check any fuse.

davenn

agreed

I think it is a ferrite cored transformer in the power supply. Probably not faulty.

yup, looks like the SPMP section

To the left of the picture are two fat capacitors. These are intended to smooth the rectified mains. One of the capacitors has a domed top and will be faulty. Replace both, check any fuse.

yup, good spotting, definitely a faulty cap

Dave

It may be that I'm not seeing it clearly but the components below the transformer look as if they have gotten hotter than they should have. There seems to be some charring in that area. However, it could just be some black dust from outside.

@Arian Anyway you could clear away the dust and snap another photo?

Sir Arian. . . . . . .

You made the almost fatal error of neglecting to give the units model number . .I picked a probably similar KVES29M90.
Your units model number is being BADLY needed.