Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to find what value capacitor do you need?

Hey, I know it is a noob questions, however, I was looking on many websites, reading all the information but I did not found the answer. I am new to electronic but I know some basics such as, how a circuit works e.g positive goes to negetive :D and also how resistors works and how to find the value I need.

Capacitors
  • I know they are made of 2 conductive materials separated by non conductive material
  • There are few types of them.
Tell me if I am wrong but..
  1. The voltage value on the capacitor indicates the maximum voltage that can be connected to the capacitor
  2. If you connect 12v battery to 50v capacitor, the capacitor will only get charged up to 12v.
  3. The order of units uF > nF > pF (pF the smallest)
And now the part I do not understand the farads
  1. How do you work out what farad value do you need, I know it depend on what you want to do, so I would appreciate if you could give me a simply example with explanation how it works.
  2. And also why when I charge 35v 47uF electrolytic capacitor using 9v 250mAh battery, the capacitor does not release its energy when I connect it to a small motor?.
Thanks for response

And now the part I do not understand the farads
  1. How do you work out what farad value do you need, I know it depend on what you want to do, so I would appreciate if you could give me a simply example with explanation how it works.
  2. And also why when I charge 35v 47uF electrolytic capacitor using 9v 250mAh battery, the capacitor does not release its energy when I connect it to a small motor?.
Thanks for response
One Farad will put out 1Volt @ 1Amp for 1 Second.

http://physics.nist.gov/cuu/Units/prefixes.html

Take a look at what that μ really means... you will find that it is an incredibly small number.