Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How does super regen receiver work -- simple explanation

How does super regen receiver work, in lay man's terms?

We could get fancy and write down derivatives and integrals and solve differential equations, but I think that's making it harder than it needs to be and I'm not good at solving differential equations.

The only coherent explanations of super regen receiver I found on the internet were pretty much black and white, either only the schematic with no explanation, or at the other extreme 10 pages of solving differential equations.

Except I found one website that explained how it worked in only a few paragraphs in lay man's terms with no calculus required.

The website I was looking at was the "Progressive crystal receiver to regenerative receiver" website that has the few paragraph layman's explanation of super regen receiver.

The explanation was (in my own words):

A problem the regen receiver has is that the user has to adjust the gain of the regeneration control for every station received since the regen detector is most sensitive right below oscillation. In addition, another problem is that any guitarist will know without any calculus that an amp overdriven left to its own means will over drive more and more infinitely (found that out the hard way when I went shopping for half an hour and my friends infinitely over drove the tube amp with feedback from 2 mics too close to each other until it started smoking when I returned), so the more time before lowering the gain means the more feedback squeal and clipping.