Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How do I ground an independent dual/triple power supply?

Hello all, my first post here!

Okay, so I just got started in electronics and I've just been doing very basic stuff with LEDs and learning about capacitors and transistors and such. I am a bit of a woodworker so I built a little workbench in my basement and, while outfitting it, got a "triple linear power supplies" (this one: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004ISD7T6/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00 ) which allows for two separate variable voltage outputs as well as the fixed 5v/3a.

Everything has been great with it so far but I just encountered my first conundrum. My brother gave me a CPU board from a malfunctioning pinball machine of his and to test it I need to put 12v, 5v and a ground on it. I thought "no problem, I can do that PLUS an additional one if needed :) ". Then I realized I have no idea how to do it. I know how to get positive voltage and ground from each SEPARATE output but not how to make it work together.

What I mean is that the +12v and +5v on the CPU board share the same ground on the board--but I can't figure out how to make the power supply do this--heck, I'm so new to this I don't even know if it CAN.

What I ended up doing to just get some testing in was to use an old computer PSU I took apart. That got me a 12v signal, a 5v signal and a ground. I was able to get the board to boot this way. The problems is that the voltages on those things don't always seem to be steady. Tonight, for example, the +5v rail was sending out 5.27v which is too high for the board to successfully boot with :(

So is there any way I can get two different voltages out of this bench power supply and use a common ground betwixt the two of them? Or is this not possible and I'll have to possibly build a DIY power supply?

If the latter, anyone got any links to a good DIY one I can build? Preferably something that could do two (or three) variable outputs?

Thanks in advance!!