Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hidden weapons in a police car

I have a project I've decided to take on. I bought a police interceptor vehicle (98 model Ford Crown Vic with police package), and I want to take some firearms that I own and hide them in the car in various places, and have them appear at the push of a button. I have an engineering degree, but it's chemical, not electrical. So basically I don't know what I'm doing.

I thought I'd post my idea and have someone tell me "no way, man, this would be so much easier...." and then tell me the right way to do it. What I plan on doing for part of the project is putting a console between the two front seats with a 30 caliber pistol in it (see attached photo). I want to take a 12V linear actuator and have it push a platform up that the pistol will be mounted to. The right side of the platform will have one wall (on the passenger side) that will stand higher than the pistol, and this will be used to force open the top of the console which will be mounted on cabinet hinges that will close automatically when the platform retreats back down into the console.

The linear actuator will then be wired to a polarity reversing switch somewhere inside the car or I will use a key fob radio control.

I was also planning on using various other linear actuators in the car to move aside hidden compartments. Is there an easier/cheaper way to do this? I'll post pics of projects when I get started. Thanks!

Attachments

• enforcer.jpg
    enforcer.jpg
    42.1 KB · Views: 9,046
Well, I think actuators would be the most straight forward way. You could also use motors, but that would require using rubber belts and pulleys to make lateral movement.

I have to ask though, why do you want to do this? Putting hidden guns into an old CVPI is a very bad idea. Assuming that you are a sane, normal individual, doing this is just asking for you get hauled off the jail during a routine traffic stop.