Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with capacitance for a particular load

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to both this site and electronics, and everything I know about components and how they work (which is near non-existent) I have learned in my spare time. I am planning on buying a modified sine wave inverter to have for emergencies and to power miscellaneous items in my car. I don't plan to use it on anything with electronics, because I know that they don't always play nice together. Knowing that capacitors help smooth voltage (at least I'm fairly certain anyways) how would I calculate the correct capacitance for a known load? This would be partially for increasing efficiency and also incase I am at a job site and need to recharge my power tool batteries. Also, if anybody could explain to me as to why I always hear that modified sine wave fries battery chargers, it would be greatly appreciated...actually any information even remotely related that is explained in laymens terms would be very helpful.

Thank you to anyone and everyone in advance that can help

Harald Kapp

I am new to both this site and electronics, and everything I know about components and how they work (which is near non-existent) I have learned in my spare time. I am planning on buying a modified sine wave inverter to have for emergencies and to power miscellaneous items in my car.
Dont! Please, dont!!!
An inverter is a dangerous beast, you're dealing with high and dangerous voltages and currents (even on the low voltage side). This is nothing to be tampered with by someone who lacks the necessary experience.

Knowing that capacitors help smooth voltage
That's for DC. An inverter creates AC. Capacitors alone will not smooth AC.

That's for DC. An inverter creates AC. Capacitors alone will not smooth AC.

Then how would one do it for AC? I remember reading somewhere about passive filtering, and if memory serves me correctly, that's what I am trying to do, right?