Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help for hooking radio speaker to 3.5mm headphone jack

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello

I have an old Nokia E72 phone with standard 3.5mm headphone/line-out/etc jack and I've like to hook up a spare external speaker I found from an old 220v FM clock-radio which got it's clock messed up so I put it away.
I already detached the speaker from the radio, I thought it would work but I guess it needs external power,

Specs:
F - F
0.5 W 8ohm

and it has a yellow and blue wire.

I do have a local special electronics shop not far that has all kinds of DIY stuff that big markets never have, like resistors, so I rather do something DIY with a battery

But I have zero electronics knowledge, I have no idea what's the voltages, ohms, ampers needed, but I do have a small multimeter at home if needed so it should be easier.

I do have 220-240v line at the location, but there's no any PCs so I would ignore the whole USB speaker thing that I just came across, I can also find an old phone charger to convert to a more managable voltage out of that i could crate a DIY setup.

You have a few issues to deal with. The phone output is designed to drive two channels of a high impedance, low power load such as earbuds, not a single low impedance speaker. However, if connected correctly to one of the channel outputs, you should be able to hear a small volume of sound from your speaker.

A set of amplified speakers such as are commonly used with computers would be ideal but if you insist on using the speaker you have, you need an amplifier. A circuit or kit that uses an LM386 may appeal to you.

You will need to sum the left and right channels together to have both feed into a single amplifier channel and speaker.

Is combining left and right channels necessary? Because I don't need both.

Do you have any idea on how much would this cost me approximately, for the parts I would need, to see if it's worth it.