Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hello and How do I check the voltage of this SMPS?

I am a novice teaching myself basic electronic repair. I want to fix this SMPS which seems to have a problem with voltage regulation and I am just starting to troubleshoot it.

***The power LED is blinking every few seconds (protection I assume)

The first question, is how do I check the voltage output? I assumed I could check VDD and VSS with a DMM, is that wrong? Can I check it without a load?

I attached a detail of the secondary SMPS section below.

a volt test.jpg

Last edited:
Sorry, but if you are a novice, you have a long way ahead before trying to repair SMPS units. Please be aware that everything left of that transformer has Lethal High Voltage enough to be fatal.

Having given that caution, most SMPS need to have a minimum load for proper operation. I don't see the specifications of this PS unit, and I cannot give more suggestions.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
I would 1) check the output caps for high esr, 2) check for shorted rectifiers, 3) remove it from its load, possibly applying a smaller known load to it and then see how it goes.

I would 1) check the output caps for high esr, 2) check for shorted rectifiers, 3) remove it from its load, possibly applying a smaller known load to it and then see how it goes.

I only had a chance to check the voltage without a load. I got as high as 80v DC and it should be closer to 28v.
I'm believing the problem is in the feedback and reference section? Possibly even the optocoupler.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
You need a load. I'm not sure what the rates load is for this supply, but if it exceeds an amp it so then a 100W light bulb may be an acceptable load (don't expect it to light brightly (it may just glow a little red).

Measure the voltage on both the AC and DC ranged of your multimeter, and tell us exactly what multimeter you have.

Sir Switchy Cat . . . . .

Is the LED you mention, being the D29 RED main power indicator LED ?