Maker Pro
Maker Pro

G24 electric lightbulb sockets

I had my house rewired six years ago and was made to have G24 sockets. I hate them! Two of them failed and I had them replaced by an electrician.

A third has now failed and I want to replace it myself. I am perfectly capable of putting my old bayonet fitting back, but I cannot remove the G24 fitting. I have looked everywhere and there seems to be nothing to unscrew. I am tempted just to cut it off, but I am afraid that this would leave the lead too short.

I am an amateur who can follow basic instructions, but I only have very basic skills and tools. I would be grateful for advice.

I have been waiting for a specific qualified electrician to come for three weeks, but I am getting desperately sick of sitting in the dark at my computer. No one wants to come and do a small job like this.

I am of the generation that had to fit their own plugs if they bought any electrical items: putting on a light socket is much easier than that: I have done it before and have never had any problems. My difficulty is working out how to remove the old light fitting.

Are your sockets the quick-connect type, such as this ? If so, the wires are push-fit. They might pull out with considerable force, or you might be able to use a narrow-bladed screwdriver or similar tool to release the wire grip. As a last resort the wire would have to be cut off.

Thanks Alec_t for your helpful reply. I still can't get the wretched thing off, but at least I know it is designed to be difficult and I am not being stupid. I will try the electrician again. I don't like these G24 light fittings at all, and with three out of eight in my house having failed so quickly, I think that the particular brand I have must be faulty and am going to have all five changed back to good old bayonet ones.