Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Full time power for Hess Truck display case.

Hello I am looking for advice on how to have constant power to a battery powered Hess Truck. I was asked to make a display case for a collection of Hess Trucks and to provide power on a switch to turn the trucks on when desired in their display case. I have little to no experience with this type of electrical work and wonder if it is even possible. Thanks ahead of time for any advice you can give.

Harald Kapp

Welcome to EP.

Sounds rather simple:
  1. Find the nominal battery voltage for each truck. If these trucks are powered by e.g. AA batteries, the required power supply is (number of batteries)×1.5 V (as each battery has 1.5 V nominal voltage).
  2. Find the required current for each truck. Unfortunately that information is usually not available in the manual of this kind of toy. If you have access to an amperemeter (or multimeter with current measurement range) you can simply measure the current drawn from a set of fresh batteries and add 50 % safety margin.
    I take it from your question that you probably do not have such a tool. So it is guesswork how much power is required by your trucks. Tell us which kind of battery the trucks use - if possible with information how long a set of fresh batteries lasts, From that time we can estimate the current draw. Otherwise, battery size can be used as an indicator for current draw in a very coarse manner.
  3. You then have to get a power supply that has the same nominal output voltage as noted in step #1 and the same or a higher current rating as noted in step #2.
    You can use either one power supply per truck or a single power supply (only if the nominal voltages are all the same) or multiple power supplies, one for each nominal voltage. The output current of each power supply must be equal or be higher than the sum of the currents drawn by all trucks attached to each power supply.