Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Final Electronics Project...Am I on the right track?

Hello everyone! Never posted here before but I'm having trouble putting together all the right pieces for a final project I'm working on. I'm currently an electronics student, graduating soon with my associates. I have a pretty broad range of basic knowledge but I wouldn't say I'm an expert at anything. I thought I would toss this out to a forum and see if anyone has some advice or other ideas.

Project: My group wants to customize our graduation caps, like many have already done; with LEDs possibly a matrix?. However, we want the caps to be able to sync with each other and blink or change color via some programming. So far we've been researching some Bluetooth and IR transceivers and we were initially thinking we could program these devices (possibly with a raspberry pi) to act autonomously when apart but synchronize when within range of each other. Problem is, I'm not sure If I want to try and incorporate a raspberry pi with every graduation cap and of course powering each one.

So... I'm looking for something more portable and able to be ran with some small batteries. If I could figure out how to create my own circuit board with something like a MSP430, could I connect a Bluetooth or IR transceiver to this and code such a project? An ideas I've looked into is setting priorities for each module and having each hat blink at a certain frequency according to it's priority level; for the synchronization part.

Conclusion: I guess I'm just wondering I this sounds even remotely possible and If what I'm describing as far as hardware is actually gonna work and is worth purchasing.

Any help/advice/tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

-P

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS