Maker Pro
Maker Pro

EMI issue with USB connection

Hello there! I'm a hobbyist and I have a major and urgent issue.
I've made a USB device by using the PIC18F4550 and on the same board I have a power transformer (220 V -> 2x12V, 2A).
The problem is, whenever I turn the power transformer on/off (entering it into the mains outlet or decoupling it), it disconnects my USB device from the PC for 1 second and then it automatically reconnects. As I've read on the internet, it's an issue caused by EMI, but I don't know how to prevent it. The USB wire is a shielded B-Type...
And I'm sure the issue is caused by the transformer, cause even if it's not on the board, unconnected to anything, not even a rectifier bridge, at 20cm from the device, it disconnects my usb device...

Help please, I need to implement a solution very fast!

P.S. I'd rather not place the transformer in a separate box...

Try powering it from a d.c source like a battery or power supply. If it still does it then it's not the transformer or it's connections, lets rule that out first. Post any schematic and a PCB layout diagram also so we can see what we are dealing with.
Adam

Hi Istvan,

Please posting sharp picture(s) of your board as your schematic will help us to help you.
Olivier

Here are the images of the breadboard... I don't have a schematic yet for it, sorry... You can see that the transformer is unconnected, still, when I plug it in the mains, or pull it out of there, it briefly disconnects my USB connection for a second. Even if my laptop is running on battery mode, it does the same thing (There's no issue with the wall outlet).

Attachments

• IMG_20140608_190945.jpg
    IMG_20140608_190945.jpg
    232 KB · Views: 138
  • IMG_20140608_191001.jpg
    IMG_20140608_191001.jpg
    198.5 KB · Views: 103