Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Electronics n00b, how does this circuit function?

Okay, if it wasn't given away by the title, I'm an electronics newbie. I want to learn how electronics work, and I'm trying to piece together what I can.

Now, it should be said that those of you that have followed posts of mine before should be assured this is just me asking questions out of learning and curiosity, and that this is not going to turn into my usual borderline-insane or just not-so-feasible project (look at my thread start history and you should gain some idea of what I'm talking about :p)

Anyway, I was looking at this schematic:

eq3.gif

and I'm trying to piece together what does what. Obviously I know that resistors increase resistance, the function of pots and grounds, etc., but it's the electronic components that I need help on.

I was wondering about this about possibly building a DJ mixer, but that's aside from the point of this post.

Does the op-amp (OPA132) in the circuit simply amplify the audio signal? It doesn't split the audio signal frequency-wise in any way?

That being said and if so, does it hold true that if I were to split any audio signal (regardless of intensity) across three resistors of varying resistance, would I generate three differing "bands" of signal across each? (of course, being very weak without amplification?)

The resistors depicted are of 1.8K, 3.6K, and 11K types. Does each resistor serve to "filter" out the other two bands, allowing for the modification of the one band being selected?

Harald Kapp

IC1 has R1=R2=100kOhm therefore it operates only as an inverting unity gain amplifier (meaning voltage at IC1, pin 6 has the same magnitude but inverse sign of the voltaeg at In).