Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Electronic fireflies in a jar

Hello all - First time posting and I'm very new to the soldering/electronics in general so go easy on me. I'm hoping someone more knowledgeable in this area can look at my project and let me know what's wrong with it, how it can be done more efficiently, easier, cheaper, etc.

What I'm wanting is multiple flickering/pulsating LEDs spinning around inside a glass mason jar. Alternatives that don't work for me include:
http://www.thinkgeek.com/geektoys/cubegoodies/e90c/ This is only one LED :(
and
http://www.thinkgeek.com/homeoffice/lights/e7a6/ These don't move and there is no ON/OFF switch.

Nothing has really been started yet as I'm awaiting parts in the mail but I'm planning on connecting four amber LEDs to an adjustable LED flasher kit. This kit can be adjusted to a pulsing and flickering effect which is what I'm going for. This adjustable flasher module is powered by a 9 volt that I plan on splicing a single pole single throw ON/OFF slider switch into that. I want this entire LED system to rotate 360 degrees at 15-20 rpm so I purchased a 1.5-4.5 vdc tiny motor but I could not find an ESC or voltage controller to control the rpm that was small enough or cheap enough. I was just going to find out when I hooked it all together but my fear is if I attach this motor without a speed control directly to that same 9 volt, it may rotate too fast...I don't even know how to go about calculating something like that.